# School District of West Salem Regular Board Meeting Minutes April 9, 2012 Marie Heider Meeting Room – 7:00 p.m.

#### Convene

The meeting was called to order at 7:00 p.m. by Vice President Errol Kindschy. The meeting was noticed to the Coulee News, La Crosse Tribune, WLSU Radio 89 FM, WXOW TV-19, WKBT-TV, WKTY, WIZM, Union State Bank, First Community Credit Union, St. Joe Country Market, River Bank-Barre Mills, West Salem Post Office, Village of West Salem, posted at each school, district web site, and district office on April 4, 2012.

## Pledge of Allegiance to the American Flag

Mr. Helgeson led everyone in the recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance and Ken Spraetz recited the District Mission Statement.

#### Roll Call

Present: Ken Spraetz, Tom Ward (via teleconference), Errol Kindschy, Scott Scafe, Connie Dutton-Snell, and Thomas Helgeson. Also in attendance – Administrators: Troy Gunderson, Dean Buchanan, Mark Carlson, and Michael St. Pierre; Finance Director: Davita Molling, Recording secretary: Patrick Bahr. Excused: Jason Falck, John Smalley, Eric Jensen, Mike Malott, Lisa Gerke, and Megan Tabbert.

## Approval of Agenda

Ms. Dutton-Snell moved, Mr. Scafe seconded to approve the agenda as amended by removing the Policy Committee report from Connection with Community. A roll vote was taken: Ms. Dutton-Snell Aye, Mr. Scafe Aye, Mr. Spraetz Aye, Mr. Helgeson Aye, Mr. Ward Aye, and Mr. Kindschy Aye. Motion carried unanimously.

#### **Connection with the Community**

Student reports – None.

*Correspondence* – None.

*Public comments* – None.

#### Written and Oral Reports

CESA #4 Report – Mr. Kindschy reported on his last meeting: Act 10 items, WERC decision on base salary calculations, cooperative purchasing between districts, and a survey to be filled out by board members.

Bearing Wall Committee – Mr. Gunderson reported that Tom O'Brien was selected as the 2012 recipient of the Bearing Wall Award.

Administrator reports were reviewed. Mr. Gunderson acknowledged and thanked the school board member candidates and Ms. Dutton-Snell for filling in the vacancy left by Linda Brown.

Art teachers Quenten Brown, Krista Beron, Danielle Tsukano, and Angie Hemker were present to introduce each student to the board member, administrator or district staff who selected their piece of art work to be displayed in the Heider Meeting Room.

Board Member and Student representative recognition – Mr. Gunderson acknowledged Megan Tabbert and Ms. Dutton-Snell with a certificate of commendation from the Wisconsin Association of School Boards for their service to the children in Wisconsin Public Schools. Mr. Gunderson also acknowledged, with a plaque from the WASB, Ken Spraetz, Errol Kindschy and Linda Brown for their service to the children and the school district.

## **Consent Agenda**

Mr. Helgeson moved, Ms. Dutton-Snell seconded to approve the minutes from the Regular Board Meeting of March 26, 2012; the minutes from the Special Board Meeting of March 28, 2012; and the invoices to be paid. A roll vote was taken: Ms. Dutton-Snell Aye, Mr. Scafe Aye, Mr. Spraetz Aye, Mr. Helgeson Aye, Mr. Ward Aye, and Mr. Kindschy Aye. Motion carried unanimously.

## **Discussion/Action Items:**

Mr. Scafe moved, Mr. Ward seconded to accept the donation to the elementary school LMC from Diane Block. A roll vote was taken: Ms. Dutton-Snell Aye, Mr. Scafe Aye, Mr. Spraetz Aye, Mr. Helgeson Aye, Mr. Ward Aye, and Mr. Kindschy Aye. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Ward moved, Mr. Helgeson seconded to make the following resolution: Be It Resolved that the School District of West Salem will borrow on a short-term basis the sum of \$900,000 at an interest rate of 2.25% from May 9, 2012, until July 20, 2016, for the purchase of technology. A roll vote was taken: Ms. Dutton-Snell Aye, Mr. Scafe Aye, Mr. Spraetz Aye, Mr. Helgeson Aye, Mr. Ward Aye, and Mr. Kindschy Aye. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Spraetz moved, Mr. Scafe seconded to approve for a second reading of board policy #671.1 Payroll, #524 Personnel Records, #532.3 Staff Leaves and Absences, and #426 Homeless Children and Youths. A roll vote was taken: Ms. Dutton-Snell Aye, Mr. Scafe Aye, Mr. Spraetz Aye, Mr. Helgeson Aye, Mr. Ward Aye, and Mr. Kindschy Aye. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Helgeson moved, Mr. Scafe seconded to accept the administration's recommendation to hire Barb Buswell as the Human Resources/Payroll Manager. A roll vote was taken: Ms. Dutton-Snell Aye, Mr. Scafe Aye, Mr. Spraetz Aye, Mr. Helgeson Aye, Mr. Ward Aye, and Mr. Kindschy Aye. Motion carried unanimously.

Ms. Dutton-Snell moved, Mr. Helgeson seconded to accept the administration's recommendation to hire Mike Malott as the High School Associate Principal. A roll vote was taken: Ms. Dutton-Snell Aye, Mr. Scafe Aye, Mr. Spraetz Aye, Mr. Helgeson Aye, Mr. Ward Aye, and Mr. Kindschy Aye. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Gunderson reviewed the proposed employee handbook. Ms. Dutton-Snell moved, Mr. Ward seconded to approve the 2012-2013 Employee Handbook. A roll vote was taken: Ms. Dutton-Snell Aye, Mr. Scafe Aye, Mr. Spraetz Abstain, Mr. Helgeson Aye, Mr. Ward Aye, and Mr. Kindschy Aye. Motion carried unanimously.

There were no resignations to present for board action.

# Adjournment

Mr. Spraetz moved, Ms. Dutton-Snell seconded to adjourn at 8:37 p.m. A roll vote was taken: Ms. Dutton-Snell Aye, Mr. Scafe Aye, Mr. Spraetz Aye, Mr. Helgeson Aye, Mr. Ward Aye, and Mr. Kindschy Aye. Motion carried unanimously.

Respectfully submitted,		
<del></del>		
Scott Scafe, Acting Clerk		